Mamafih (CD)

Normaler Preis €16,00

The new EsRAP album bears the poetic title "Mamafih", an old Turkish word for "however" and "nevertheless", and thus conveys the history and current situation of the Austro-Turkish brother and sister on several levels. Despite all the adversities they faced as children of guest workers and representatives of the third generation, such as hatred of foreigners and a structurally racist school system, they have managed to make themselves heard beyond the borders of their homeland.

Where do fears and feelings of loneliness come from? "Mamafih" has become more personal and contains many passages and songs in Turkish.

The beats are more house and trap oriented and exude an intense club feeling. All in all, "Mamafih" is characterised by great musicality; in the fusion of modern beats with arabesque, EsRAP definitely reach the next level with Testa.

Through their releases and concerts in recent years, EsRAP have developed into a role model of Austrian resistant pop art with a migrant background and enjoy corresponding media attention.

Growing up in the old Viennese working-class district of Ottakring, the siblings Esra and Enes Özmen use hip hop as their medium to make themselves heard and to gain recognition for their own lifeworld with all its conflicts.


1 Intro
2 Warum
3 Sevdim Seni
4 Aman
5 Alev Alev
6 Artist
7 Hic Razi Degil
8 Interlude
9 Nie Verstehen
10 Degmen Benim
11 Wir Haben Recht
12 Keine Aussage
13 Welche Regeln Gelten Hier
14 Lieb Meinen Winter
15 2 Dakikan Var